Trope-a-Day: War of Earthly Aggression

War of Earthly Aggression: Preemptively averted with the Empire’s interstellar colonies.  The Thirteen Colonies (the first thirteen systems colonized) were originally colonized sublight by sleeper vessels, so while technically subordinate to the Eliéran Empire were functionally independent.  When the wormhole was invented and reunification came about, they were each developed systems on their own – too much so to be integrated as anything less than peers even if the Empire had wanted to do so.  This then set the pattern for future colonial relations.